MIVAL announces Junior Art Show winners

This piece, done by sixth grader Josephine Liu, titled Summer Joy, won the Eddie Bond award in the MIVAL Junior Art Show last weekend. - Contributed art
This piece, done by sixth grader Josephine Liu, titled Summer Joy, won the Eddie Bond award in the MIVAL Junior Art Show last weekend.
— image credit: Contributed art

Last weekend, during the annual Summer Celebration event, the Mercer Island Visual Arts league hosted the 37th annual Junior Art show, featuring art created by Islanders in kindergarten through high school.

In the elementary category the winners were:

Painting/Drawing (K to 2nd grade)

First – Sasha Zhang (K) – Fairy Princess – Oil Pastel

Second – Kevin Bai (2nd) – Bird – Pastel

Honorable mention – Barbara Gregory (K) – Penguin Family – Mixed Media and Luke Boyd (1st) – My School – Acrylic

Painting/Drawing (3rd, 4th and 5th grade)

First – Eliza Crenshaw (4th) – Lone Wolf  – Pastel

Second – Margaux Hickman (4th) – Clubhouse – Watercolor

Honorable mention – Bryce Pielage (4th) – Sabertooth Cat  – Oil Pastel and Vivian Guo (3rd) – Hurricane Whirlpool – Watercolor

Craft/Sculpture (K to 2nd grade)

First – Leander Schatz (KG) – Helicopter – 3D

Second – Caroline Crow (K) – Baby Jesus – Sculpture

Honorable mention – Philip Kleemann (1st) – Grandpa – Sculpture

Craft/Sculpture (3rd, 4th and 5th grade)

First – Sophia Scull (4th) – Native American Mask  – 3D

Second – Kai Pressey (4th) – Marble Run  – Sculpture

Honorable mention – Sophia Scull (4th) – Swimming Sea Duck – 3D

The middle school awards were given to students in the sixth through eighth grade. The winners are:


First – Ryley Zerngast (6th) – Bird – Oil Pastel

Second – Bryce Bogar (6th) – Treble Clef Island Orchestra – Drawing

Honorable mention – Julia Meade (8th) – Heels – Watercolor/Ink and Heather Robinson (6th)  – Jaguar – Oil Pastel


First – Grace Thomas (7th) – Bad Habits  – Mixed Media

Second  – Julia Meade (8th) – Maggie – Cardboard

Honorable mention – Cameron Richardson (8th) – Helicopter – 3D and Jeremy Bank (8th) – Amethyst Necklace - Jewelry

Photography/Digital Prints

First – Connery McQueen (6th) – Chicken - Photo

Second – Jake McQueen (6th) – Fire - Photo

Honorable mention – Connery McQueen (6th) – Eye - Photo

The high school awards were given to students in ninth through 12th grade. The winners were:


First – Kelsey Skordal (12th) – Self Portrait - Acrylic

Second – Julia Appelbaum (9th) – Landscape)  - Acrylic

Honorable mention – Leah Gross (12th) – Running Shoes  – Oil Pastel and Alayna Bone (12th) – Veronica - Acrylic


First – Kaya McRuer (11th) – Reflection in Silver – Charcoal

Second – Max Foster (11th) – Dream Mapping  – Pencil/Marker

Honorable mention – Alayna Bone (12th) – The Girl  – Charcoal and Ryan Tam (12th) – Gollum - Charcoal


First – Dan Simons (11th) – Jungle Gym - Mixed Metal

Second – Sarah Eames (12th) – Christmas Cards - Mixed Media

Honorable mention – Dan Simons (11th) – My Type of Bracelet  - Jewelry and Gwen Hildebrandt (9th) – Flight and Fancy - Jewelry


First – Josh Voss (12th) – Night Lights

Second – Lauren House (12th) – Reflection

Honorable mention – Gavin Grob (12th) – Glass Reflection

A variety of special awards were given out during the event. Those include:

Dorothy Liberty Founder Award – Joshua Friedland (9th) – Man’s Face – Oil Pastel

Ramona Warrick Memorial Award – Audrey A. Murphy (10th) – Roaring Lion – Scratch Board

Jean Jack Memorial Awards – Christina Crow (2nd) – Pray for Japan - Collage and Philip Kleemann (1st)– Self Portrait - Drawing

Rose Preston Memorial Award Kaya McRuer (11th) – Joy – Charcoal

The Kleemann Family Award – Maria Engel (10th) – Untitled – Acrylic

Ken Claflin Award Ali Dickstein (5th) – Dreamer’s Garden – 2D Art

Franca Martin Awards – Allison Froio (10th) –The White Stripes – Pen Drawing and Kevin Bai (2nd) – Tropical Island – Oil Pastel

Hartman Ltd. Inc. Awards – Dan Simons (11th) –Spherical Salute – Collage and Kendal Toy (5th) –The Gymnast – Pastel

Judith Roan/Ron Reeder Photography Award – Lauren House (12th) – Crack – Photograph

Brenda Sager Award Lukas Kleemann (3rd) – Native American Fisching Net– 3D Art

The Foster Family Award – Kaitlin Kim (10th) – Fleur de Lis – Jewelry

The Anna Bond Award – Charlie Murphy (5th) – Plant and Animals – Color Pencil

The Eddie Bond Award – Josephine Liu (6th) – Summer Joy – Copics

The Pia Messina Award – Parker Shally (2nd) – The Owl  – Oil Pastel

Mercer Island Florist Award (Gift Certificate) Jennifer Mendoza (11th) – Abstract Flower – Oil Pastel

Island Books Award (Gift Certificate) – Amanda Wion (3rd) – Ducktale – Oil Pastel

Cascade Frames Award (Gift Certificate) – Dan Simons (11th) – Heavenly Reflection – Encaustic


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates