Mercer Island Reporter


Islander student musicians are best in state

Mercer Island Reporter Staff
November 15, 2012 · Updated 3:59 PM

The Mercer Island High School music program has a lot to celebrate, as 18 band members and 11 orchestra students have been selected to take part in the All Northwest Band and Orchestra Groups.

The groups include students from Washington, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Wyoming and Alaska. Members of the National Association of Music Educators and the Washington Music Educators Association chose the students by audition. The students will represent MIHS at the National Association for Music Educators All Northwest Convention in Portland, Ore., in February.

“I am incredibly excited and proud of these talented and hard-working students,” said Parker Bixby, MIHS band director.

“The audition recordings were outstanding and the competition was fierce,” added Vicki White-Miltun, director of the orchestra. “It is highly unusual for a school to place more than one student in the honors groups.”

“This is a great honor for our high school and a wonderful accomplishment for these students. I am so proud of Parker, Vicki and all of other band and music teachers. Thank you to our students, teachers and community for your hard work and dedication,” said MIHS Principal Vicky Puckett.

Students chosen to participate in the All Northwest Band and Orchestra include: David Bi,violin; Amanda Kuo, cello; Sarah Lee, violin; Norihiro Shiotsu, cello, Naomi Tran, cello; James Abrahamson, Bb soprano clarinet; Yu Cao, Bb soprano clarinet; Dalton He, euphonium; Shea Kelsay, trumpet (cornet); Karl Manner, bass clarinet; David Stewart, Bb soprano clarinet and Mary Wingerson, bass clarinet.

Students taking part in the All State Orchestra include: Caleb Chuck, violin; Ann Guinee, viola; Esther Kerns,  violin; Devina Kumar, violin; Vienna Weber, cello and Richard Yoon, violin.

Students chosen for the All State Band include: Alexandra Gore, French horn; Annalise King, euphonium (baritone horn); Nolan Conway, tuba; James Wilson, trombone; Alison Rosenman, trombone; Kira Newell, trumpet (cornet); Taylor Hartley, percussion; Neha Shah, bassoon; Ian Schneiderman, bassoon; Rachel Rosenman, Bb soprano clarinet and Isaac Miller, oboe.

Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us