MIHS radio program wins general excellence award

From left, radio student Skyler Liechty, student program director Katie Hendrickson, and KMIH sports director Luke Mounger show off KMIH
From left, radio student Skyler Liechty, student program director Katie Hendrickson, and KMIH sports director Luke Mounger show off KMIH's 2014 General Excellence award.
— image credit: Contributed photo

Mercer Island High School's radio station, KMIH-FM, won five individual state title awards and took home the General Excellence award at the 7th annual Washington State High School Radio Awards. It was KMIH’s first state General Excellence award.

Mercer Island was one of the five Washington high school stations involved, competing with radio programs from Nathan Hale, Aberdeen, Peninsula and Kennewick. KMIH-FM, found at 88.9 and 94.5 FM, took home 11 awards.

Brady Baker won three awards, taking first place for Best Sports Broadcast or Production, second place for Best Radio Station Promotion and first place, with Luke Mounger, for Best Sports Play-by-Play. Sean Quinn also took home three awards, placing first for Best Jock Talk, second for Best Radio Imaging and second, with Brianna Meehan, for Best Team Newscast.

Kevin Vallene won first place for Best Radio Imaging, Jack Oberle and Enes Hansen took first place for Best Team Newscast. Oberle took third place for Best Individual Newscast, Chris Lawler took third place for Best Underwriting and Mounger took third place for Best Radio Station Promotion.

Students spent the year creating various audio samples in the categories of news, jock-talk, sports, public service announcements, underwriting and station imaging. The entries were judged by local radio professionals here in Seattle.

Radio broadcasting teacher and KMIH-FM station manager Charlie Hilen said winning the General Excellence award was a program goal since he arrived at Mercer Island.

“Lots of hard work went into these submissions this year and I am so proud of my students for winning the General Excellence award. We have a great program with great students who are talented in a variety of areas of broadcasting,” said Hilen.

The 2013-14 Radio Sports Team, from left: Luke Mounger, Katie Hendrickson, Chris Lawler, Dan Mayer, Riley Simpson, Brady Baker, Sean Quinn and Kevin Vallene. Front, Tom Rall and Sam Hibbert (contributed photo).

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates