How Washington state lawmakers voted on Wall Street bailout

Washington state’s three Republican House members, along with a single Democrat, voted no on the $700 billion bailout of financial markets Monday, Sept. 29.

The measure was defeated in the House, 228-205.

Republican Reps. Dave Reichert, Doc Hastings and Cathy McMorris Rodgers, along with Democratic Rep. Jay Inslee, voted against the measure negotiated by congressional leaders and the White House.

“This is about protecting the taxpayers’ money and holding people accountable,” Reichert told the Bellingham Herald. “The taxpayers are being asked to shoulder the burden. We need systemic changes. I want a free-market solution using private capital rather than taxpayer dollars.”

Democratic Reps. Norm Dicks, Adam Smith, Brian Baird, Rick Larsen and Jim McDermott supported the measure.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates