News brief | Boater Safety Classes offered in early 2009 on MI
By REPORTER STAFF
Mercer Island Reporter Staff
November 4, 2008 · Updated 2:01 PM
Boaters 12 years and over in Washington State are required to take or have taken a National Association of State Boating Law Administrators and Washington State approved boating education course to operate a boat with a motor rated over 15 horse power. In 2009, this requirement applies to persons aged 25 and younger with full implementation being phased in over the next several years.
Classes are held at the Mercer Island Fire Station, 3030 78th Ave SE. Upcoming dates for 2009 include:
• January 13 and 14 (2 four hour sessions)
• February 21 (a single 8 hour class)
• February 24 and 25 (2 four hour sessions)
Pre-registration is required. Register by contacting Mercer Island Marine Patrol by e-mail at: firstname.lastname@example.org. Cost: $15.00 Limit: 20. For more information, please visit www.mercergov.org/boatersafety.Contact Mercer Island Reporter Staff Reporter Staff at email@example.com.