Daylight saving time begins this Sunday

In the United States, daylight saving time begins at 2 a.m., local time, on the second Sunday in March. That means this Sunday, March 8, at 2 a.m., clocks need to be set ahead one hour.

On the first Sunday in November, areas on daylight saving time return to standard time at 2 a.m. or when daylight saving time ends, turn your clocks back one hour.

The names in each time zone change along with daylight saving time. Eastern Standard Time (EST) becomes Eastern Daylight Time (EDT), and so forth. Arizona, Puerto Rico, Hawaii, U.S. Virgin Islands and American Samoa do not observe daylight saving time.

In August 2005, former President Bush signed into law a broad energy bill that extended daylight saving time by four weeks, beginning in 2007. Since 1986, the United States had observed daylight saving time from the first Sunday in April through the last Sunday in October. The provisions of the bill call for daylight saving time to begin three weeks earlier on the second Sunday in March and end on the first Sunday in November.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates