Mercer Island Reporter


80 Mercer Island School District graduates support School bond and levy

January 30, 2014 · 2:44 PM

Proud MIHS alums support bond vote and levy

We are proud products of the Mercer Island public school system and wish to see MISD remain strong.  We are raising our own children in this same district where we grew up, living here by choice because we know how well this community supports our students.  We therefore write this letter to urge all voters to join us in voting YES for Proposition #1 fixing overcrowding and voting YES for Proposition #2 for the M&O Levy which provides funds for over 100 teachers and staff.

Mercer Island Public Schools have been consistently ranked as one of the best districts in the State of Washington for delivering education.  Over the past 50 years, the District and our community have educated over 15,000 MIHS graduates.   As residents and graduates of Mercer Island we are direct beneficiaries of our community’s investment in education.  With 750 students in portables and an expected net increase of 300 or more students arriving in next few years, it’s time to add capacity to our District by building a new 4th Elementary school and adding on to the Middle and High Schools.   Mercer Island has a proud tradition of educational excellence, however, we cannot simply rest on this reputation - we need to continually invest in our schools.


Eighty Mercer Island High School graduates now on living the Island and raising families;




Christine Acker

Lisa Beebe

Debbie Bertlin

TJ Burke

Monica Burnside

Jennie King Cameron

Jennifer Carmichael

Marilyn Morrison Chorak

Becky Dobbyn-Mckanna

John Dolence

Katelyn Dolence

Michelle Swanson Dumler

Amie Fahey

Jennell Russell Fuchs

Andrea Kusakabe Fukano

Matt Galvin

Charlie Givan

Laurie Pettigrew Givan

Teresa Goepfert

Peter Goodman

Dan Gottesman

Greg Gottesman

Tim Gottesman

Jacob Gribble

Greg Hart

Carin Sulman Jacobson

Laura Dunner Jantos

Jola Jensen

Kim Jewett

Ralph Jorgenson

Julie Keeler

Nicole Kelly

Jaso  Koehler

Amy Clarfeld Lavin

Mike Leavitt

Sam LeClercq

Mark Li

Jeremy Loft

Jordan Lott

Jim Lovsted

Deborah  Schneider Lurie

Ed Malakoff

Lew Malakoff

Subeer Manhas

Heidi Martin

Mark Martin

Kathy Moffett McDonald

Dick McIntosh

Robert McIntosh

Melissa (Leuckel) Milburn

Mitch Mounger

Tammy Nedell

Dodi Nov

Julie Ogata Ciobanu

Brett Ogata

Randy Ogata

Vince Pacecca

Stephanie Sleight Parmenter

Kerry Donner Perlman

Carolyn Weisfield Pirak

Jen Sadlier

Karen Kuhn Schmid

Rachel  Schneider  Schwartz

Roger Shanafelt

Michelle Jaffe Shleifer

Tracy Schuffler Sigmon

Sarah Smith

Amy Sproul

Rachael Sterrett

Scott Swerland

Kim Thomas

Amy Baldini Tubach

Erik Viafore

Kristen Hart Ward

Andrea Clark Watson

Anne Mullen Way

Don Weidner

Jim Weisfield

Shelley Keeler Whelan

Jessica Weinman

Joanne Zelonka Wilson

Ronald Yeh

Shauna Swerland Youssifina


Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us