IMS wins league title

For the first time in the Islander Middle School team’s history the school has won the Eastside Middle School league title. The varsity middle school team finished the championship meet with 122 points with Maywood and Issaquah tied for second with 97 points.

“We exceeded expectations,” said IMS head coach Ryan Hoisington. “We had a lot of first year kids at the varsity level and they just stepped up.”

But the varsity team wasn’t the only level to win a title as the sixth-grade or junior varsity team also won its tournament championship.

“I can’t give the coaches enough credit,” said Mercer Island High School head coach Creighton Laughary. “Not all the high school teams have a middle school program and it gives us an advantage. They practice with us and it builds a tradition.”

The varsity team posted six champions including Kyle Shanafelt at 78 pounds, Scott Mills at 85 pounds, Eric Hermmans at 90 pounds, Colton Knebel at 145 pounds and TJ Blackburn at 154 pounds.

“It shows that with hard work anything can happen,” said Hoisington.

Second-place finishers for the varsity included Tucker Vassau at 105 pounds, Peter Lee at 125 pounds, Kyle Moline at 164 pounds and Evan Moline at 175 pounds.

Islander Middle School wrestlers Blake Johnson (100 pounds) and Adam Smith (heavy weight) both took fourth place, while Jasper Campbell (95), Max Goetshell (110) and Joe Graham (120). Phillip Frazier also took fifth place at the 130 pound weight class despite fighting off the flue as well as his opponents.

Sixth place finishers included Miles Brooks (115), Andrew Rawson (137) and Peter Brockway (145).

“This really gives them confidence and will hopefully keep them wrestling through high school,” said Hoisington. “It just builds a lot of excitement for wrestling on Mercer Island.”

Junior varsity

Islander Middle School finished with 10 first place wrestlers during junior varsity tournament including Conner Gullstad, Justin Rorem, Will Medlock, Kyle Wiss, Peter Scott, Sam Gottlieb, Sam Alpert, Danny Stanke, Ben Ho and Sam Porter. The team placed Matt Wotipka, CJ Lovsted, Edan Stern and Peter Brockway second while Chris Hall (third), KC Carrol (third), Jake Leipsohn (third) and Patrick Hamilton (third) also placed in the tournament.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates