Opinion

Opinion: Public deserves honest information on sex education

The Washington comprehensive sex education bill passed in the Senate on March 7.

 

Thank you grocery store clerks

Recognizing the sacrifices of our unsung essential workforce.

  • Mar 30, 2020

 

City asks residents to do their part | GUEST OPINION

A guest opinion written by Mercer Island’s elected officials.

  • Mar 23, 2020

 

Now is the time to be kind to each other | Windows and Mirrors

As the COVID-19 outbreak continues, it is important for us to be there for others in our communities.

To our elected officials: Be bold, be consistent, be honest, be helpful

By Patrick Grubb, Washington Newspaper Publishers Association Governor Jay Inslee has been forceful in fighting the COVID-19 pandemic because our state is the nation’s hotbed… Continue reading

  • Mar 17, 2020

We need to think before we act | Windows and Mirrors

As coronavirus has led to xenophobia and racism against Asians, we should all stop and think before acting on our biases.

Letter to the Editor, March 4, 2020

Parks survey reminder

  • Mar 4, 2020

Gov. Inslee is cordially invited to Kirkland, Eastside

We need the governor here to know we’re a priority, not in Olympia or on cable news channels.

  • Mar 3, 2020

Trump betrays promise to protect, fight for workers

A guest opinion syndicated by PeaceVoice.

  • Mar 2, 2020

The state has too much money and it’s a problem

With revenues rising, budget writers are going to get lots of requests on how to spend it

Short legislative session turns left

With a progressive agenda including comprehensive sex education, clean fuel standards and gun violence, Democrats will need to be cautious about overreach.

KCLS: Much to celebrate from 2019 and in the year ahead

A column from the King County Library System.

‘We can do the right thing’ | Windows and Mirrors

Clarence Moriwaki shares how we can stand up for each other and not have history repeat itself.

Clyde Ford speaks at Bellevue First United Methodist Church. One of the things he spoke about was how other countries have approached the topic of race and racism. Samantha Pak/staff photo

We need to, but how do we talk about race? | Windows and Mirrors

Racism is still an issue in this country. How can we have constructive conversations to move forward and heal?

Clyde Ford speaks at Bellevue First United Methodist Church. One of the things he spoke about was how other countries have approached the topic of race and racism. Samantha Pak/staff photo

Norman Rockwell exhibit at Covenant Living

Greg Asimakoupoulos displays magazine covers.

  • Feb 3, 2020

Teaching kindness and empathy in schools | LETTER

Kindness Matters initiative at MISD.

  • Jan 30, 2020

Letter to the Editor, Jan. 22, 2020

MIYFS Foundation Breakfast

  • Jan 22, 2020

United Methodist Church: To split or not to split | Windows and Mirrors

Local clergy from Eastside United Methodist Churches weigh in on the church’s future regarding LGBTQ+ inclusion.

Prescription for a 2020 Vision | On Faith

A monthly column dealing in matters of faith.

  • Jan 8, 2020

Come for the conversation, stay for the friendships | Windows and Mirrors

Talk Time classes allow English language learners to practice their speaking and conversation skills.