Opinion

Prescription for a 2020 Vision | On Faith

A monthly column dealing in matters of faith.

  • Jan 8, 2020

 

Come for the conversation, stay for the friendships | Windows and Mirrors

Talk Time classes allow English language learners to practice their speaking and conversation skills.

 

Washington State Capitol Building in Olympia. File photo

Despite ruling on Public Records Act, we need to keep a close eye on Olympia

Washington Supreme Court upholds that state legislators are subject to the Public Records Act.

  • Jan 2, 2020

 

Helping neurodivergent students navigate higher education | Windows and Mirrors

The Neurodiversity Navigators program at Bellevue College offers various services to students who are on the autism spectrum.

When asked their opinion on contract talks, they were silent

A 2017 law lets lawmakers offer negotiation topics. But a bipartisan panel didn’t do so this week.

Changing systems doesn’t happen overnight | Windows and Mirrors

It’s been a year since the Menchie’s incident and here is what the city of Kirkland has been working on since then.

Discerning fact from opinion

It can be more difficult than people first think, according to the Pew Research Center.

Our newspapers have many reasons to be thankful

Changes have had positive impacts, readers offering support.

  • Nov 28, 2019

Trust violated by past letter to the editor | EDITORIAL

Mercer Island Reporter unable to verify letter writer’s identity.

  • Nov 19, 2019

From a place of respect | Windows and Mirrors

What does it mean to share your culture with others?

Mental health: One size does not fit all | Windows and Mirrors

The challenges of providing mental health services for communities of color.

Letters to the Editor, Oct. 30, 2019

Political letters not in print.

  • Oct 30, 2019

Who are the people in your neighborhood?

A monthly column about matters of faith.

  • Oct 25, 2019

Cutting down on creating trash

I am going to admit something here: when I travel, I create trash. Lots and lots of trash. Know that this is not something I… Continue reading

  • Oct 23, 2019

Letters to the editor, Oct. 23, 2019

Letters on the upcoming election.

  • Oct 23, 2019

Professionals in a second language | Windows and Mirrors

What is it like to pursue a career in a language that is not your first?

Breaking barriers | Windows and Mirrors

Spending time in the outdoors has helped veteran Naomi Layco heal physically and mentally after serving in the U.S. Navy.

Working toward a more welcoming Eastside | Windows and Mirrors

Eastside for All has launched to focus on race and social justice advocacy.

Improving safety in Aubrey Davis Park with bike lane projects | Guest Opinion

A local guest opinion regarding planning for bike traffic increases.

  • Sep 11, 2019

History: The untold stories | Windows and Mirrors

What do we not know about the history of the human race?